Elmet

Fiona Mozley
Paperback
RRP £10.99
Our price £9.34
You save £1.65 (15%)

Be the first to review this product

An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent. Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017.
Availability: In Stock

Description

Details

Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017

'Fiona Mozley is a rising star of British fiction ... Elmet is a quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable. It is hard not to feel that at 29, Ms Mozley has only just begun' (The Economist)

Fresh and distinctive writing from an exciting new voice in fiction, Elmet is an unforgettable novel about family, as well as a beautiful meditation on landscape.

Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned sour and fearful. They lived apart in the house that Daddy built for them with his bare hands. They foraged and hunted. When they were younger, Daniel and Cathy had gone to school. But they were not like the other children then, and they were even less like them now. Sometimes Daddy disappeared, and would return with a rage in his eyes. But when he was at home he was at peace. He told them that the little copse in Elmet was theirs alone. But that wasn't true. Local men, greedy and watchful, began to circle like vultures. All the while, the terrible violence in Daddy grew.

Atmospheric and unsettling, Elmet is a lyrical commentary on contemporary society and one family's precarious place in it, as well as an exploration of how deep the bond between father and child can go.
 

Customer reviews

We'd love to hear what you thought of this book.

Log in or register to leave your review.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Product details

Additional Info

ISBN 9781473660540
Publisher HODDER & STOUGHTON
Format Paperback
Publication date 10 Aug 2017

You May Also Like