The Utopia of Rules

David Graeber
Hardback
RRP £19.99
Our price £16.99
You save £3.00 (15%)

Be the first to review this product

An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule our lives—and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.
Availability: Not in stock at the moment. More on the way, but please be aware that delivery may take longer than usual.

Also By This Author

Description

Details

Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And just how much are our lives being ruined by all this nonstop documentation?
To answer these questions, anthropologist David Graeber—one of our most important and provocative thinkers—traces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even notice. Is the inane, annoying paperwork we confront every day really a cipher for state violence? And is the capitalist promise of salvation-through-technology just a tool for the powerful to exert more control? Graeber provides a forceful, radical answer to these questions, though he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealing—even romantic—about bureaucracy.
Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics in the second half of the twentieth century to the hidden meanings behind James Bond, Sherlock Holmes, and Batman, The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Žižek at his most accessible.
An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule our lives—and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.
 

Customer reviews

We'd love to hear what you thought of this book.

Log in or register to leave your review.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Product details

Additional Info

ISBN 9781612193748
Publisher Melville House Ltd
Format Hardback
Publication date 12 Mar 2015

You May Also Like